Building Awards 2020 shortlist

2020 hasn’t been the year any of us expected and we were delighted to see such positivity in all of your entries.

Today we finally announce the winners of the Building Awards 2020, live from
There’s no need to register or login, simply visit from 4pm on Tuesday 3rd November 2020. 

The Building Awards Shortlist....

Barratt Developments



D2i Management

Fit Out UK


Interserve Construction


Laing O’Rourke

NG Bailey


Places for People


Boulevard Theatre – SODA Studio

City Park West – Pollard Thomas Edwards

National Automotive Innovation Centre – Cullinan Studio

No.1 Court Redevelopment, Wimbledon – Turner & Townsend

Prince & Princess of Wales Hospice – Ryder Architecture

Royal Papworth Hospital – HOK

The Event Complex, Aberdeen – Aberdeen City Council, HBD, Robertson, Keppie, Turner & Townsend

Town House, Kingston University – Willmott Dixon, Grafton Architects and Kingston University

Assael Architecture

Buckley Gray Yeoman

HLM Architects

Ryder Architecture

TODD Architects



Core Five

Mott MacDonald


Turner & Townsend

Fulkers Bailey Russell


OFR Consultants

Plan A



Cahill Design Consultants



Daniel Taylor, Metro Group


Tower Gardens Pavilion – Perfect Circle 

HLM and Sir Robert McAlpine


Rock Townsend Architects

Comcast Technology Center, Philadelphia – Foster + Partners

Kita Aoyama, Tokyo – Conran + Partners

The Twist, Norway – AKTII/BIG

Cell and Gene Therapy Catapult – Merit

Green Park Village Primary School – Reds10

Hackwood Primary Academy – Lungfish Architects

North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust Energy centre – NG Bailey

Royal Orthopaedic Hospital theatre and ward complex – ModuleCo Healthcare

Scale Space – Western Building Systems

Sir Frederick Gibberd School – Caledonian Modular

Union Wharf – HTA Design LLP & Assael Architecture

Fairfield Halls – MICA

The Great Hall and Library Project for the Honourable Society of Lincoln’s Inn – MICA

London Screen Academy – Willmott Dixon Interiors

Murray Mills, Ancoats – Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Primark, Birmingham – 3D Reid

Riverside House – Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Wenlock Works – Buckley Gray Yeoman

Windmill Green – tp bennett

Angle House – Carbogno Ceneda Architects

Clifton suspension bridge toll houses – Beard

Clore Music Studios – John McAslan & Partners

Hinchingbrook Hospital keyworker accommodation – Zed Pods

Kaolin Court – Stolon Studio

Royal Hallamshire Hospital operating theatres – NG Bailey

Berkeley Group

Miller Homes

Mount Anvil



Blackfriars Circus – Maccreanor Lavington

Chesterfield House, HUB

Dudley House – Willmott Dixon

Great Kneighton – Countryside

Keybridge – Mount Anvil and Fabrica by A2 Dominion 

Mulberry Park – HTA Design

New Garden Quarter, Pollard Thomas Edwards

Rochester Riverside – BPTW 


7D BIM, Cartwright Pickard


New Science Building, University of East Anglia – Fraser Brown MacKenna Architects

Digital validation, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Mayhew Theatre: Gilbert-Ash



Implementation of BIM Level 2 on the London Screen Academy – Willmott Dixon Interiors

Lucas App Suite – Lucas UK Group 

Thoughtful Design Toolkit – HLM Architects 

Harris Academy Sutton, Willmott Dixon and Architype

Kingswillow House, Hilton – Graham Handley Architects 


            Bennetts Cranes



Clarke Facades

EE Smith

Lucas Group






Black & White

Davies Maguire

Foster + Partners

OFR Consultants

Red Engineering

Thornton Tomasetti

Winners to be announced at the Awards...

British Land

Manchester City Council

North West Cambridge Development

London Legacy Development Corporation

Winner to be revealed on Tuesday 3 November

Pete Redfern, Taylor Wimpey

Alan Dunsmore, Severfield

David Allen, Wates Group